StayClued
accelerator profile

Plug and Play Japan

Varies by partner program · Japan + global network · Open now

ApplicationsOpen now
FundingVaries by program; no guaranteed standard check
LocationJapan + global network

Plug and Play Japan is a multi-program corporate-innovation and market-entry platform, not one standardized accelerator. The wider network advertises 40+ locations, 60+ annual theme programs, 500+ corporate partners, and 250+ startup investments per year; individual Japan programs set their own sectors, support, travel requirements, and economics.

Tier 2 · ranked #7japancorporate

ApplyOfficial siteOpen in the live directory

Current application context

Program intake

Open now

Applications are currently open according to the program's authoritative source.

Cohort · Kawasaki Global Accelerator 2026
What the source says

“スタートアップ募集開始!”

Checked Aug 21, 2026Changed Aug 22, 2026Authoritative source ↗

Key facts

Check sizeVaries by program; no guaranteed standard check
TermsVaries by partner program
Stagestartup to scale-up
ApplicationsOpen now
Program datesMultiple partner- and sector-specific programs
LocationJapan + global network
Remote friendlyYes
Warm intro neededNo — open application
Sectorsfintech, mobility, vertical-specific
Statusopen

Always confirm on the official page before applying — dates and terms change.

Background

The Japan platform connects startups to domestic corporations and Plug and Play's global offices. The 2026 Kawasaki Global Accelerator illustrates the model: a free deep-tech and US-expansion program running into March 2027, with approximately five startups selected for its overseas track and travel paid by participants.

How the application really works

Choose a specific Japan partner or sector program and apply on that program's page. The Japan homepage is discovery infrastructure, not a universal application with fixed terms.

Tips

Watch out for

Track record

No platform-wide acceptance rate; the Kawasaki overseas track plans to select approximately five startups.

Frequently asked questions

Is this program currently accepting applications?
Choose a specific Japan partner or sector program and apply on that program's page. The Japan homepage is discovery infrastructure, not a universal application with fixed terms.
What are the current economics?
Cash, equity, fees, and travel support vary. The Kawasaki 2026 program is free but participants fund their own travel.
How large and long is the program?
Global network: 40+ locations and 60+ annual theme programs; Japan runs multiple partner programs. Corporate pilots, market-entry work, mentoring, and sector programs vary by partner.
Can founders participate remotely?
Program-specific; overseas activity can require travel.
What happens after the program?
Corporate introductions and global office access are documented; investment is not guaranteed by admission.

Related accelerators

Plug and Play Tech Centervaries · Global (Silicon Valley HQ)GK-Plug and Play IndonesiaCurrent standard terms not publicly specified · IndonesiaMassChallengeequity-free; cash prizes · US + global hubsAngelPadCurrent standard terms not publicly specified · Global applicants; in-person US cohortIndieBio (SOSV)up to $500k · US (SF & NYC)Station F — Fighters ProgramNo cash investment · France; program delivered in French

Sources